Make your own free website on


History (very shortened)

AMG was founded by Hans Werner Aufrecht and Erhard Melcher in 1967. AMG stands for "Aufrecht Melcher Grossaspach", where Grossaspach is the town which AMG was founded. At this time, AMG was the only company that tuned or modified Mercedes-Benz.

1971 Mercedes-Benz wins the 24 hr race at Spa with a 300 SEL 6.8, which was developed by the two AMG guys.
1978 AMG grows and moves to Affalterbach with 40 employees.
1988 AMG teams up with Mercedes-Benz and enters the German touring car championship (DTM) with 190E 2.5-16 evo cars.
1989 AMG wins the DTM series.
1990 AMG expands in Affalterbach and has now 400 employees. AMG gets contract with Daimler-Benz that extends beyond motorsports.
1992 AMG wins the DTM series.
1993 AMG and Mercedes-Benz develop their first car together, the C36 AMG.
1994 AMG wins the DTM series.
1995 AMG wins the DTM series.
1996 AMG wins the International Touring Car Championship.
1998 AMG wins the FIA GT Championchip with the CLK GTR.
1999 Mercedes-AMG GmbH is founded.



If I have missed out on any facts that you know about, don't hesitate to share them with me.